Planning for Spring

I have made up a flow chart of sorts so that I can keep on track with what I am doing in my agricultural-horticultural goals. It isn’t a flow chart really but I like the idea of making one and also drawing plans for what I want to do with the land once I get it. I have thought about leasing land and that is still a viable option but I will have to keep my eye out for it on Craigslist. Often they want just a share of the produce from what you grow and that would be great. This area has a lot of land not being used for it’s intended purpose in my opinion and it might just take the right situation (that’s close enough to home for me to get to it ) to have things go really well for me this year.

I don’t want to end up with too many laying hens and I am considering the idea of getting dual purpose breeds and then using them for both so I don’t have so many in the backyard for so long.  One of my neighbors doesn’t mind at all and the other one is a crazy lady and recently was yelling so loud at night at her ex-husband that I really feel like getting more chickens that cluck when they lay an egg is nothing compared to her being crazy every now and then and yelling.  I am going to be a responsible animal owner though and not do that. 🙂

You also shouldn’t let your chicken sit on your couch.

No job

Small CSA from home (includes eggs)

Sell extra eggs to people (neighbors)

Raise 15 meat birds and sell to friends and neighbors

Buy fridge for garage

 

Job

Small CSA from home (includes eggs)

Sell extra eggs to people (neighbors)

Raise 15 meat birds and sell to friends and neighbors

Buy fridge for garage

Buy land

 

Leave a Reply

